What is a BTEC Grade?

What is a BTEC Grade?

A BTEC grade is a summative assessment awarded at pass, merit, or distinction. The BTEC qualifications are made up of units, and students are required to complete assignments and tests to be graded.  The BTEC assignments and tests link theory work learned with practical work for specific vocational sectors.

The assessment for all BTEC qualifications is criterion-referenced and based on the attainment of specified learning outcomes. Therefore, each unit within the qualification has specified assessment and grading systems used for grading purposes.

  • Pass Grade: To attain a pass grade, a learner must have satisfied all the pass assessment criteria.
  • Merit Grade: To be awarded a merit grade, the learner must have satisfied all the merit grading criteria.
  • Distinction Grade: to be awarded a distinction grade, the learner must have satisfied all the distinction grading criteria.

If a learner doesn’t meet the grading criteria for the lowest passing grade available for their qualification, they will be given a U, which means ‘unclassified’.

BTEC Grading Domains

The grading criteria are reached through the grading domains. The grading domains are exemplified by the number of indicative characteristics at the level of qualification. The BTEC grading domains include the following:

  • Application of knowledge and understanding
  • Development of practical and technical skills
  • Personal development for occupational roles
  • Application of generic skills

List of Universities that accept BTEC Level 3

Pursuing a BTEC course is a great way to learn and develop practical skills while attaining a valuable qualification. However, once you complete your BTEC course, what next? Most students use their BTEC qualifications to climb the career ladder or establish future career prospects. Others use these qualifications to proceed to the university.

In fact, many students take advantage of their BTEC qualification to enroll for a degree course in the second or even third year. Let’s look at the universities that accept the BTE qualifications in final year entry, advanced and international students.

  • Final Year Entry

Universities that accept BTEC for final year entry include, but not limited to:

  • University of Glamorgan
  • Bournemouth University – The Business School
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • University of Northampton
  • University of Huddersfield
  • University of Salford
  • University of Plymouth
  • University of Worcester
  • University of Sunderland
  • The University of the West of England
  • Southampton Solent University
  • Patrick’s College Sunderland
  • York St John University

Advanced Entry

The following universities accept students for advanced entry, which is 2nd or 3rd-year entry.

  • Bournemouth University (The Business School)
  • The University of Central Lancashire
  • Cambridge Education Group (Stafford House College)
  • Bath Spa University
  • Brunel University West London
  • De Montfort University
  • Coventry University
  • University of Essex
  • Griffith College Dublin
  • University of Gloucestershire
  • University of East Anglia
  • The University of Greenwich
  • University of Derby
  • University of Wales Institute, Cardiff
  • The University of Southampton
  • The Surrey Institute of Art and Design University College
  • The University of Sussex
  • The University of Reading
  • Northumbria University
  • Nescot College International
  • The University of Portsmouth
  • University of Worcester
  • Thames Valley University – London
  • University of Westminister
  • Kingston University
  • Huron University USA in London

International Students

BTEC students from outside the UK can also benefit. So, the following universities accept a student with BTEC qualifications but from outside the UK.

  • University of Bedfordshire
  • Bradford University
  • University of Brighton
  • Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College
  • University of Kent
  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • The University of Bolton
  • Canterbury Christ Church University
  • University of Central Lancashire
  • University of Greenwich
  • De Montfort University
  • University of Gloucestershire
  • University of Huddersfield
  • The University of Lincoln
  • University of Glamorgan
  • University of Plymouth
  • University of Portsmouth
  • University of Wales Institute
  • St Patrick’s International College

How are BTEC Grades Calculated

  • BTEC Level 1 and 2 First

A grade of Level 2 Pass, Level 2 Merit, Level 2 Distinction, or Level 2 Distinction* may be shown on the certification. If a learner does not attain these grades, a Level 1 grade may be awarded and will get an Unclassified (U) grade. Individual units will also be awarded the same grades. However, Level 1 Distinction* is not awarded at the unit level.

  • Award of Distinction* (D*)

The D* is a combined grade for the qualification but based on the overall learner performance. For learners to attain this grade, they must demonstrate a strong performance across the entire qualification

  • BTEC Level 1 and 2 Tech Awards

The final grade awarded for this qualification represents a combination of the learner’s performance across the entire qualification. Since the qualification grade is a combination of the total performance, there is an element of compensation in that higher performances in some components are balanced by a lower outcome in others.

The calculation of the qualification grade of Tech Awards is based on 7 grades from Level 1 Pass to Level 2 Distinction*. However, learners that don’t meet the minimum requirements for a qualification grade are given Unclassified (U).

  • BTEC Level 2 Technicals

The final grade awarded for this qualification represents a combination of the learner’s performance across the entire qualification. Therefore, the qualification grade is based on the total performance. However, there is compensation in that higher performance in specific units may balance the lower results in others.

If the learner attains more than the required number of optional units available, the mandatory units and the optional units with the highest grades are used to calculate the overall outcome. However, the calculation is based on the eligibility requirements for that specific qualification title.

  • BTEC Level 3 Nationals in CPLD

For the level 3 nationals qualification, the certification may show a Pass, Merit, Distinction, Distinction* or Unclassified as an aggregated grade. The Distinction* grade is a combined grade for the qualification based on the learner’s overall performance. However, a learner must show strong performance across all units for this qualification to be awarded this grade.

Each unit is awarded a Pass, Merit, or Distinction, or Unclassified. The Distinction* grade is not awarded at the unit level.

BTEC Level 3 Performing Arts Colleges

The following are colleges offering the BTEC Level 3 Performing Arts;

  • Cardinal Newman College
  • Thames College
  • London College of Performing Arts
  • Carmel College
  • Northampton College
  • St Patrick’s International College
  • Cambridge Education Group (Stafford House College)
Comments are closed.
Need Help? Chat with us!
Start a Conversation
Hi! Click one of our members below to chat on WhatsApp
We usually reply in a few minutes