BTEC Level 1 Introductory

BTEC Level 1 Introductory

The BTEC Level 1 Introductory qualification comprises of BTEC Level 1 Introductory Award, Certificate, or Diploma in Business. These qualifications are part of the new suite of BTEC Introductory qualifications offered by Pearson. The BTEC Level 1 Introductory is purely designed for pre-16 to 19+ learners who want to attain a Level 1 qualification in preparation for future studies.

However, keep in mind that this qualification is not designed to lead directly to the job market but will enable learners to maximize opportunities to progress by focusing on the development of transferable and sector-related skills and knowledge.

These qualifications are designed clearly to meet the needs of the above-mentioned group of learners in terms of content, assessment, and progression. Learners who don’t intend to specialize in one specific sector can take up Vocational Studies qualification in Award, certificate or Diploma. The Vocational Studies allow the students to study units from various sectors.

The new grade qualifications provide an extensive introduction to a sector while providing the learners the chance to demonstrate increased skill levels. Besides, learners will develop the necessary transferable and sector skills to advance more quickly. The qualification prepares learners for advancement to Level 2 BTECs or to pursue other programmes.

They provide for advancement by either attaining entry requirements or by being accepted together with other qualifications at the same level. They also add value to other qualifications, especially alongside English and mathematics studies. In the business sector, the BTEC Level 1 Introductory qualifications include:

  • BTEC Level 1 Introductory Award in Business
  • BTEC Level 1 Introductory Certificate in Business
  • BTEC Level 1 Introductory Diploma in Business

Qualifications, Sizes, and Purpose

BTEC Level 1 Introductory Award in Business

  • Size and Structure: The qualification requires 70 guided learning hours (GLH). Two units are mandatory of which one must be picked from the Core Skills (Group A), Developing a Personal Progression Plan, and the other unit from the sector options (Group B).
  • Purpose: The qualification is ideally designed for learners wanting to gain an introduction to a particular chosen vocational area. It provides an opportunity for the learners to pursue a sector unit and plan for their next steps by completing the compulsory unit – Developing a Personal Progression Plan.

BTEC Level 1 Introductory Certificate in Business

  • Size and Structure: The qualification requires 180 guided learning hours. To qualify, five units must be completed, of which two must be picked from the Core Skills (Group A), and three others from Sector Skills (Group B).
  • Purpose: The qualification is designed for those learners who are ready to advance faster to further study. The certificate qualification provides a basic introduction to the business sector. Besides, it could be part of a study programme that entails other appropriate subjects like Maths and English.

BTEC Level 1 Introductory Diploma in Business

  • Size and Structure: The qualification requires 360 guided learning hours. Ten units are required for completion of this qualification, of which four must be picked from the Core Skills (Group A), and six from Sector Skills (Group B).
  • Purpose: The qualification is designed to run over one year to allow learners to develop a range of skills in the business sector while supporting progression to advanced study. Moreover, it can be a substantial vocational qualification within a study programme that may comprise other applicable English and Mathematics.

Total Qualification Time

For this qualification, Pearson specifies the total number of hours of study that it is expected learners will be needed to undertake to complete the qualification – this is the Total Qualification Time (TQT). The TQT is calculated for the average learner. With the TQT, Pearson classifies the number of Guided Learning Hours (GLH), which a center delivering the qualification expected to provide.

Guided learning refers to activities like lessons, tutorials, supervised study and supervised assessments, which directly involves tutors and assessors in teaching, supervising, and invigilating learners. TQT comprises other required learning such as private study, preparation for the assessment, and undertaking assessment when not directly under supervision.

BTEC Level 1 Introductory Award in Business

  • Total Qualification Time: 75 Hours
  • Guided Learning: 70 Hours

BTEC Level 1 Introductory Certificate in Business

  • Total Qualification Time: 195 Hours
  • Guided Learning: 180 Hours

BTEC Level BTEC Level 1 Introductory Diploma in Business

  • Total Qualification Time: 390 Hours
  • Guided Learning: 360 Hours

Centers should take note of these hours in planning their programme but may use their professional judgment to determine the provision of guided learning and study time across units.


Assessment is designed to fit the purpose and objective of the qualification and all units should be assessed internally to allow learners to demonstrate skills developed in applied scenarios. There is a range of assessment styles suited to skills and sector-based qualifications at this level. Nonetheless, the units are graded to encourage skills development and performance.

The qualification comprises of two types of unit. Group A units are the core skills units that cover content designed to reflect the skills and behaviors needed to progress to further study. Group B units are made up of sector units comprising sector-specific content to enable learners to develop sector-specific skills and knowledge to support progression to the next stage of vocational learning.

Where the units from Group A and Group B may have the same transferable skills, centers may choose to deliver them simultaneously. It is acceptable providing the delivery is planned appropriately and all learning aims for both units are met and covered in the assessment.

Grading for Units and Qualifications

Units are assessed using a grading scale of Distinction, Merit, Pass, and Unclassified. Grading is introduced at this level as a result of feedback from users and practitioners of BTEC qualifications. All units contribute proportionately, based on the Guided Learning Hours (GLH) to the overall qualification grade.

The qualifications in this suite are graded using a scale of P to D, or PP to DD. The relationship between qualification grading scales and unit grades will be subject to regular review as part of Pearson’s standards monitoring processes based on learner performance and in consultation with users of the qualifications.

Leave a Reply

Need Help? Chat with us!
Start a Conversation
Hi! Click one of our members below to chat on WhatsApp
We usually reply in a few minutes